Archive for March 17th, 2012

March 17, 2012

Crash Test Vegetarian

While I’m hesitant to call this macaroni and cheese, that’s essentially what it is – but in the vegan world.

Macaroni and Cheeze

I’ve been vegan for 4 months now, and two other times I tried mac n cheeze.  The first time contained mustard, which was so unappealing that even my dogs wouldn’t touch it.  The second time was a boxed version, and I couldn’t get past the grittiness of the flour which was what made it thicken.

So this, this was my third attempt.   I found this particular version thanks to Angela at VegAngela.com who found the original recipe at Epicurean Vegan.

So before I continue, rest assured that this past the Omnivore husband test, but it was easier to accept as a cashew CREAM sauce rather than a “Macaroni and Cheese.”

Since I’m not quite sure how she feels about other people publishing her recipes, I’ll ask you to…

View original post 178 more words

March 17, 2012

Myths About Veganism Debunked!

From Mother Nature Network

 

I’m a vegan. I have, I believe, good  reasons for being a vegan and if you ask I will share them with you, but when I say “I’m a vegan”  I am not saying, “I eat nothing and I’m dying. Please help me by sharing your ignorant ideas and lack of nutritional knowledge so I can see the error of my ways and go back to eating hot dogs and Velveeta.” Assumed that, as a reasonably intelligent fellow, I’ve chosen this course with knowledge and forethought. If you don’t like it and wish to continue to swill down putrefying dead animal flesh, do so to your heart’s discontent, but his is my road, not yours. SOB

vegan food pyramid adapted from recommendation...

Image via Wikipedia

 

March 17, 2012

graygoosegosling

Authors Comment: Occasionally I have had need for a quotation about the separation of church and state. Here is a handy list I often draw upon. Please feel welcome to use them. 

On the Separation of Church and State

 Infidel or Christian. Atheist or Deist by Craig Gosling

Can you identify this person by a few of his quotations?

Who was it that wrote that the bible is “… a groundwork of vulgar ignorance of things impossible, of superstition, fanaticisms and fabrications?” It is “…compounded from the heathen mysteries, a system beyond the comprehension of man, of which Jesus, were he to return on earth, would not recognize one feature.”

Concerning most religious leaders, our mystery man wrote: they use religion…”for the purpose of deriving from it pence and power.”

Who was it that claimed, “…our civil rights have no dependence on our religious opinions, any more than our…

View original post 2,435 more words

March 17, 2012

Great post from a blogger who says “Promote Sciences as if your life depended upon it.It actually does”

graygoosegosling

THE DECLINE OF ATHEISM?

Editorial Review: “Who Are These Doubters Anyway?” by Tom Flynn, Editor of Free Inquiry magazine, Feb./March 2012

This is an informative article that may have been missed by much of the atheist community because its title did not mention their favorite word, “Atheist”.

In case you missed it, I’ll summarize the article and then follow-up with a few italicized personal comments.

Attempts to estimate the number of atheists in the USA have been inaccurate and confusing. In 1930-40 estimates were low, only 2% of population were thought to be atheist because of the poor counting techniques and the fact no one wanted to admit to being one of those “dirty atheists.” By 1990 it was estimated that the percentage had risen to 8%, or 50,080,000 individuals and family members. I think this percentage is still low because of “closeted” atheists/non believers who chose to continue…

View original post 1,556 more words

March 17, 2012

raudette

I generally don’t bake. I don’t know why. I love the science of it, the exact measurements, but for some reason I hardly ever use the oven, except for roasting vegetables and occasionally for lasagna or enchiladas. But hardly ever for a meal that requires actual dough. This week we filled up the growler at our beloved McMenamins Bar, the Six Arms. Our selection was their amazing Irish Stout. I woke up inspired by the day and thought “Beer Bread!” This morning we had it with a little honey for breakfast, but I’m thinking about whipping up another batch with a little cheese baked in for dinner!

Beer Bread

3 cups flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/4 cup sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
12 ounce beer (about 1 1/2 cups — we used our McMenamins Irish Stout)
2 tablespoons butter

Preheat the oven to 375°F. Butter a bread pan with…

View original post 47 more words

March 17, 2012

March 17, 2012

I Wanna Know What Love Is

“I do understand what love is, and that is one of the reasons I can never again be a Christian. Love is not self denial. Love is not blood and suffering. Love is not murdering your son to appease your own vanity. Love is not hatred or wrath, consigning billions of people to eternal torture because they have offended your ego or disobeyed your rules. Love is not obedience, conformity, or submission. It is a counterfeit love that iscontingent upon authority, punishment, or reward. True love is respect and admiration, compassion and kindness, freely given by a healthy, unafraid human being”

“I do understand what love is, and that is one of the reasons I can never again be a Christian. Love is not self denial. Love is not blood and suffering. Love is not murdering your son to appease your own vanity. Love is not hatred or wrath, consigning billions of people to eternal torture because they have offended your ego or disobeyed your rules. Love is not obedience, conformity, or submission. It is a counterfeit love that iscontingent upon authority, punishment, or reward. True love is respect and admiration, compassion and kindness, freely given by a healthy, unafraid human being”

Freedom From Religion Foundation

Image via Wikipedia

Dan Barker (Dan Barker (1949) was a Christian preacher for 19 years. After leaving Christianity Barker became an atheist and is the author of the books Godless and Losing Faith in Faith: From Preacher to Atheist. Dan is the co-president of the Freedom From Religion Foundation.)

English: Photo of Dan Barker, by Brent Nicastr...

Image via Wikipedia

 

March 17, 2012

Screw McDonald’s: Ten vegan Shamrock Shake recipes!

reblogged  from Vegansaurus

I’ve never had a Shamrock Shake and I don’t really want one. I don’t like milkshakes anyway but this thing looks extra cray. But according to my friend Nell, Shamrock Shakes are all the rage! She was like, there’s got to be a better vegan version without all the icky chemicals. Well, here are some recipes that have popped up on the internets recently! I collected them all for you because I am so nice.

From Naturally Sweet Recipes:

From The Family Kitchen on Babble:

From Sometimes I Veg:

Another from Sometimes I Veg, healthy-looking:

From Pursuit of Hippieness:

A pale one from Sunny Vegan:

From Tia Tofu:

From the Sweet Tomato:

A kind of healthy raw one from Vital Juice:

And a mint chocolate chip one from Fork and Beans:

All right people, get your shake on!

Tags: